Sanford Avenue School shines bright – photography by artist Joanna St.Jacques

Sanford Avenue School

A friend here in Hamilton, Ontario came over to my hood and took this photo. When she emailed it to me later, I was blown away – not only because I’ve developed a personal attachment to it while fighting to save it from being demolished, but because it has been stubbornly difficult to being able to be photographed as a whole, with its character intact. This is the best contemporary  impression of this 1932 depression-era heritage I have seen.

I love this photo for many reasons. Formally, I love the grid of windows, each with it’s own variance tells a story of when it was last used (can you spot the Mona Lisa lurking in one of the windows? a neat cardboard cutout I had not noticed before…). I look at the accents on top the building and how this is like something straight out of the Art Deco influenced movie “Metropolis“. I look at this and it makes me want to learn more about architecture.

Sadly and beautifully, the neglect and stress of the last ten years is all over this building. The atmosphere of this work is troubling, brooding and somehow majestic. I had the pleasure of hanging out with St. Jacques while she took this photo with some special techniques, but I won’t reveal them.

The grit and dirt of it’s exterior is a texture that contrasts with the solid frame and spectacular craftsmanship that would hold this structure together for hundreds of years – if we let it. The school board has rebuffed those who wanted to re-vitalize it over the last ten years, while not maintaining it or making repairs.

Currently, the building is still slated for demolition as early as three weeks from now. They have no funds to replace it with anything but a rubble strewn empty lot, and they are essentially tearing down this building because the “big machine” of bureaucracy considers a mostly empty parking lot beside it as untouchable. Insurance, of course, is also an issue and the school board could clear this liability off their books, regardless of the developers and community members asking to be allowed to present alternatives for using it. Exactly how could these considerations be any less inspiring, noble or even necessary?

There is a Hamilton Wentworth District School Board Board of Trustees meeting on Monday, December 17th. This is the last meeting before they can go ahead and demolish it and leave this poor neighbourhood another empty lot to live with.

Please consider contacting your local Trustee and expressing your concerns about this situation – our community voices are making a difference:

Ward 3
Lower City

Tim Simmons
Chair of the Board
Chair’s Office: 905.527.5092 x 2279
Phone: 905.308.6832
tim.simmons@hwdsb.on.ca

Ward 9 & 10
West Stoney Creek
(lower and mountain)

Robert Barlow
Vice-Chair
Phone: 905.308.2483
robert.barlow@hwdsb.on.ca

Ward 1 & 2
West Lower city

Judith Bishop
Phone: 905.512.5713
judith.bishop@hwdsb.on.ca

Ward 4
East Lower City

Ray Mulholland
Phone: 905.547.2237
ray.mulholland@hwdsb.on.ca

Ward 5
East City

Todd White
Phone: 289.237.1644
todd.white@hwdsb.on.ca

Ward 6
East Mountain

Laura Peddle
Phone: 289.238.9284
Cell: 905.308.3367
laura.peddle@hwdsb.on.ca

Ward 7
Central Mountain

Lillian Orban
Phone: 905.573.8181
lillian.orban@hwdsb.on.ca

Ward 8
West Mountain

Wes Hicks
Phone: 905.383.2222
wes.hicks@hwdsb.on.ca

Ward 11 & 12
East Stoney Creek
Ancaster
Glanbrook

Alex Johnstone
Phone: 905.515.7082
alex.johnstone@hwdsb.on.ca

Ward 13
Dundas

Jessica Brennan
Message Line 905.627.3820.
jessica.brennan@hwdsb.on.ca

Ward 14 & 15
Flamborough

Karen Turkstra
Phone: 905.515.8726
karen.turkstra@hwdsb.on.ca

A view of the parking lot the City and School Board bureaucracy want to preserve (note the wide and underused street suitable for street parking)

Sanford School, street and parking

Sanford School, street and parking

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s